YOLO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

December 1, 2022

The Yolo Local Agency Formation Commission met on the 1st day of December 2022, at 11:00 a.m. in the Yolo County Board of Supervisors Chambers, 625 Court Street, Room 206, Woodland CA, and via teleconference. Voting members present were Chair and Public Member Olin Woods, County Members Don Saylor and Gary Sandy, City Members Norma Alcala and Wade Cowan. Others present were Executive Officer Christine Crawford, Clerk Terri Tuck, and Counsel Eric May.

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Woods called the Meeting to order at 11:02 a.m.

Item № 1 Pledge

Wade Cowan led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Item № 2 Roll Call

PRESENT: Alcala, Cowan, Sandy, Woods ABSENT: Saylor

<u>Item № 3</u> <u>Public Comments</u>

None.

CONSENT

Renew authorization for remote (teleconference/videoconference) meetings by finding, pursuant to Assembly Bill 361, that (a) the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency is ongoing, and (b) meeting in person would present imminent risks to the health or safety of attendees

<u>Item № 5</u> <u>Approve the LAFCo Meeting Minutes of September 22, 2022</u>

<u>Item № 6</u> <u>Review and file Fiscal Year 2022/23 First Quarter Financial Update</u>

Item № 7
Ratify Resolution 2022-09 commending Don Saylor and Resolution 2022-10 commending Wade Cowan on their tenure with the Yolo LAFCo as a Regular County Member and Regular City Member, respectively

Minute Order 2022-34: The recommended actions were approved.

MOTION: Sandy SECOND: Alcala AYES: Alcala, Cowan, Sandy, Woods

NOES: None ABSENT: Saylor

Commissioner Saylor called in by phone at 11:32a.m. and arrived at the dais 11:50a.m.

PUBLIC HEARING

Item № 8

Consider approval of Resolution 2022-11 adopting the Municipal Service Review (MSR) for the County Service Areas (CSAs) and approving a Sphere of Influence (SOI) Update for the Wild Wings CSA (LAFCo No. 21-04), and determine the MSR/SOI is exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA)

After an overview report by staff, the Chair opened the Public Hearing. Speakers were El Macero residents Richard Lauckhart, representing El Macero Owners for Fair Taxes (EMOFT), and Bill Dendy, and former LAFCo Financial Consultant Mark Krummenacker. The Public Hearing was closed.

Minute Order 2022-35: After staff was directed to make minor phrasing changes to Exhibit B, attached to the resolution, regarding the MSR recommendations for Yolo County, the Commission adopted Resolution 2022-11, approving the Municipal Service Reviews (MSR) for the Dunnigan, El Macero, North Davis Meadows, Wild Wings, and Willowbank County Service Areas (CSAs) and a Sphere of Influence (SOI) Update for the Wild Wings CSA (LAFCo No. 21-04), and determining the MSR/SOI Update is exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA).

MOTION: Saylor SECOND: Cowan

AYES: Alcala, Cowan, Sandy, Saylor, Woods

NOES: None

ABSTENTIONS: Woods (abstained from Willowbank CSA approval only)

REGULAR

Item № 9 Consider and adopt the Yolo LAFCo 2023 Meeting Calendar

Minute Order 2022-36: The recommended action was approved.

MOTION: Alcala SECOND: Sandy

AYES: Alcala, Cowan, Sandy, Saylor, Woods

NOES: None

Item № 10 Executive Officer's Report

The Commission was given written reports of the Executive Officer's activities for the period of September 19 through November 18, 2022, and was verbally updated on recent events relevant to the Commission, including the Long Range Planning Calendar.

It was reported that Executive Officer Christine Crawford, Counsel Eric May, and Commissioners Saylor & Woods attended the CALAFCO Conference held in Newport Beach this past October. Staff noted that Yolo LAFCo was the recipient of two of CALAFCO's annual achievement awards. Commissioner Saylor was awarded Outstanding Commissioner for his steadfast and progressive leadership while serving as a regular County member for almost twelve years. EO Christine Crawford was awarded the Mike Gotch Excellence in Public Service for her innovation, collaboration, outreach and effective support of the evolution and viability of local agencies, and promotion of efficient and effective delivery of municipal services in the face of heightened political

pressure and opposition in preparing and completing a yearlong MSR/SOI Update for the fifteen fire protection districts in Yolo County.

Staff humbly thanked Commissioners Cowan and Saylor for their many contributions and support during their tenure with LAFCo.

Item № 11 Commissioner Reports

County Member Don Saylor was presented **Resolution 2022-09**, commending him for his tenure on the Yolo LAFCo.

City Member Wade Cowan was presented **Resolution 2022-10**, commending him for his tenure on the Yolo LAFCo.

Item № 12 Adjournment

Minute Order 2022-37: By order of the Chain the meeting was adjourned at 12:36 p.m.

lin Woods, Chair

Local Agency Formation Commission County of Yolo, State of California

ATTEST:

Terri Tuck

Clerk to the Commission