YOLO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES

July 28, 2022

The Yolo Local Agency Formation Commission met on the 28th day of July 2022, at 9:00 a.m. in the Yolo County Board of Supervisors Chambers, 625 Court Street, Room 206, Woodland CA, and via teleconference. Voting members present were Chair and Public Member Olin Woods, County Members Gary Sandy and Don Saylor, City Members Norma Alcala and Wade Cowan. Others present were Alternate Public Member Richard DeLiberty, Executive Officer Christine Crawford, Clerk Terri Tuck, and Counsel Eric May.

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Woods called the Meeting to order at 9:03 a.m.

Item № 1 Pledge

Gary Sandy led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Item № 2 Roll Call

PRESENT: Alcala, Cowan, Sandy, Saylor, Woods ABSENT: None

Item № 3 Public Comments

None.

CONSENT

Item № 4

Renew authorization for remote (teleconference/videoconference) meetings by finding, pursuant to Assembly Bill 361, that (a) the COVID-19 pandemic state of emergency is ongoing, and (b) meeting in person would present imminent risks to the health or safety of attendees

Item № 5 Approve the LAFCo Meeting Minutes of June 30, 2022

Minute Order 2022-24: The recommended actions were approved.

MOTION: Alcala SECOND: Saylor

AYES: Alcala, Cowan, Sandy, Saylor, Woods

NOES: None

PUBLIC HEARING

Item № 6

Continued Public Hearing to consider approval of Resolution 2022-07, adopting the Municipal Service Review (MSR) for the Fire Protection Agencies and approving a Sphere of Influence (SOI) Update for County Service Area (CSA) 9, East Davis Fire Protection District (FPD), and Springlake FPD (LAFCo No. 21-05)

After an overview report by staff, the Chair opened the Public Hearing. Speakers included Tom Kane, Richard Yeung, William Mattos, Rebecca Smith, Barry Burns, Eric Zane, Dan Ramos, James Barrett, Bill Weisgerber, and Supervisor Jim Provenza. The Public Hearing was closed.

Minute Order 2022-25: The Commission approved **Resolution 2022-07**, adopting the MSR for Fire Protection Agencies and approving the SOI Update for Garcia Bend County Service Area #9, East Davis FPD, and Springlake FPD.

Additionally, staff was given direction to include commentary from East Davis FPD and Elkhorn FPD when forwarding information to the Board of Supervisors for its consideration.

MOTION: Saylor SECOND: Cowan

AYES: Alcala, Cowan, Sandy, Saylor, Woods

NOES: None

REGULAR

Twelve-month status report on LAFCo Municipal Service Review (MSR) recommendations for the Knights Landing Community Services District (CSD) and the feasibility of a regional CSD (LAFCo No. S-054)

Minute Order 2022-26: No action was taken on this item.

Item № 8 Consider nominations for the CALAFCO 2022 Achievement Awards

Minute Order 2022-27: The recommended action was approved, directing staff to submit the following nominations:

Don Saylor (County Member) – Outstanding Commissioner Christine Crawford, Executive Officer, for the Fire Protection Agencies MSR/SOI – Mike Gotch Excellence in Public Service Award (Category 2)

MOTION: Sandy SECOND: Alcala AYES: Alcala, Cowan, Sandy, Woods

NOES: None ABSTAIN: Saylor

Item № 9 Executive Officer's Report

The Commission was given written reports of the Executive Officer's activities for the period of June 27 through July 22, 2022, and was verbally updated on recent events relevant to the Commission, including the Long Range Planning Calendar.

Item № 10 Commissioner Reports

Commissioners acknowledged and commended the Executive Officer for the many months of hard work put forth in completing the Municipal Service Review and Sphere of Influence (MSR/SOI) for all sixteen Fire Protection Agencies in Yolo County.

Item № 11 Closed Session

Public Employee Performance Evaluation (Pursuant to Government Code Section 54957)

Position Title: LAFCo Executive Officer

There was nothing to report out of Closed Session.

Item № 12 Adjournment

Minute Order 2022-28: By order of the Chair, the meeting was adjourned at 10:17 a.m.

to Closed Session

Olin Woods, Chair

Local Agency Formation Commission

County of Yolo, State of California

ATTEST

Clerk to the Commission